Cohen Excellence in Teaching Awards

Headmaster Scott Nelson often emphasizes that the faculty and staff are the School’s greatest asset. A school is only as good as its faculty and staff, and Rye Country Day is positioned as an excellent school because of its commitment to hiring and retaining the best faculty and staff from around the nation and the world.

The Steven and Alexandra Cohen Foundation made a tremendous leadership gift of $10 million to the Advancing a Tradition of Excellence campaign. As past parents of the School, Mr. and Mrs. Cohen recognize the importance of supporting our excellent faculty. Five million dollars of their $10 million capital gift has been put towards the campaign’s $7.5 million goal for raising the endowment for faculty and staff.

This gift funds the Cohen Excellence in Teaching Awards, which are yearly $10,000 grants awarded to faculty members who have been nominated by their peers and selected by the administration for outstanding instruction and contributions to the School. The inaugural awards were granted to ten faculty members in June 2016. Ten additional awards were granted in June 2017.

2017 Recipients

Cathie Bischoff
Susan Burns
Monique Caterina
Matt Cavanaugh
Sara Ingrassia
Mary Krasovec
Mary Marcell
Kyle Mitschele
Corey Rubel
Georgette Summers

2016 Recipients

Anne Bedrick
Sarah Danziger
Clemmie Everett
Jay Gerlach
Nicole Leath
Tammy McKenna
Steve Norman
Susan Peck
Richard Strean
Ashley Zanon

For more information, please visit